Recipe Copycat: Roasted Tomato Basil Pesto

Remember when we had too many tomatoes? Sadly, it looks like our tomato stash is dying down. Our basil plants are still going strong, and when I saw this recipe for Roasted Tomato Basil Pesto from OhSheGlows, I knew that I had to make it. I went out and gathered a bunch of tomatoes and whipped up Angela’s recipe.

image

I followed all of her directions, except I omitted the almonds since we didn’t have any on hand. I also roasted the garlic during the last 15 minutes of cooking time. I also didn’t use roma tomatoes, I just used this gigantic bowl of tomatoes that I had just harvested from our garden.

Fall (2 of 10)

Fall (5 of 10)

Fall (3 of 10)Fall (4 of 10)Fall (6 of 10)

Three simple ingredients that pack TONS of flavor!

The finished product: Roasted Tomato Basil Pesto

Fall (7 of 10)Fall (8 of 10)

We used a *few* more tomatoes than in the original recipe, hence the rusty color! I was a little bit underwhelmed by the flavor- perhaps I didn’t roast my tomatoes long enough? I started searching for ways to incorporate the pesto into our weekly meals.

On Sunday night we topped some tilapia fillets with the pesto, but the winning combination happened when I whipped some of the pesto into our weekly frittata.

Fall (10 of 10)

Check it out! This frittata was made with 3 eggs, 3 egg whites, 3 TBSP tomato basil pesto, about 1/3c. of cooked spinach, some chives, salt and pepper. I sprinkled mozzarella on top for a final garnish and voila!

Fall (9 of 10)

This was by far one of my favorite frittata combinations EVER (and we’ve tried a lot of different combos: Squash Blossom Frittata, Bacon and Broccoli Frittata, Hash-Brown Qui-ttata and Frittatas for all)

Don’t waste any time, click on over to OhSheGlows (and try not to drool on your keyboard) and make this pesto!

One thought on “Recipe Copycat: Roasted Tomato Basil Pesto

  1. Delicious! I made homemade pesto last night.. Just the normal kind, though, with basil, garlic, olive oil, and walnuts. SO yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

