One Year Ago

Here is our engagement story from December 9, 2009. Enjoy!

Daniel sent me a text during my small group and asked if he could cook dinner for me, of course, I said “sure”. I had been feeling under the weather for the past few days, and I was probably just going to reheat some “sick soup”. Daniel is a great chef, so I had no problem letting him create a masterpiece.

He went around to several groceries to find the ingredients he needed (I think his ingredient run lasted over an hour and a half, plus extra time for Lexington traffic)! During his grocery run time, I immersed myself in studying genetics with a large wad of tissues at my side (studying was done with my space heater on “high” and all of my blankets on top of me). When Daniel got to my house, he said he didn’t need any help cooking. I was so grateful that he didn’t need help- I decided to lay down and rest for a little while. While I was napping, some delicious scents crept through the cracks of my doors at the apartment. After about an hour of hearing some clanking and chopping in the kitchen, dinner was served.

A delicious Asian-inspired feast. He made miso soup with sautéed mushrooms, wilted spinach and tofu. Alongside was seared sesame-encrusted tuna, and greens with a wonderful miso dressing that rivals other Asian restaurants. We prayed over the delicious feast and enjoyed our meal, saying “mmmmm” at every chance we got!

After we finished dinner, we hung out the table and just talked about our days a bit. Then, as I was getting ready to start cleaning up some dishes, he said “Wait, I have a special dessert!” He said “close your eyes”. I responded, “I’m cool with closing my eyes, but do I have to close my eyes and open my mouth? What if it’s something ‘icky’?” He laughed and said “It’s not squishy or anything”. And for whatever reason, that satisfied my curiosity, so I closed my eyes and sat with my hands out.

The next thing I knew, I opened my eyes, and he was on one knee in front of me (I was still sitting in my dinner chair), and he had an open ring box in his hands. He said “Holly, will you marry me?” I think both of my hands were on either side of my face (in shock), and I immediately said “Yes, Oh my goodness!!!” We hugged, I cried some (I’ll blame it on the sickness, but it was really tears of joy), we hugged some more. Finally I decided I should put on the “symbol of commitment and an eternal relationship”, and we proceeded to take some pictures because I knew you (and the rest of the world) would want to see.

(excuse the deathly pale hands)

The lovely crying/shocked face. Man, I look great when I’m sick. Good thing I had showered earlier, otherwise I would have looked like an unshowered sick person.

And two more pictures, I didn’t realize how difficult it was to take a picture of something so sparkly! It came with its own wedding band, so that curve on the top will be mirrored on the bottom! It’s fantastic! (EDITED: We actually got a different ring, see below)

The first thing we did (after doing the dishes) as a newly engaged couple was a trip to Kroger. I ran out of NyQuil, so we bought a bottle of that and a pack of allergy medicine (it was on sale, and I am probably going to need it over break). We came back home, watched some Food Network, I may have cried a little bit again. Then I sent out texts to many, many people, had some NyQuil, prayed with Daniel and slept.

So there you go, our engagement story. Daniel said he wanted to do something hugely extravagant, but he doesn’t know his work schedule for Christmas break, and chances are, we’ll be in 2 different places for a good portion of the time. He said he wanted to make it easier to do wedding planning stuff (we’re still thinking May), if we were officially engaged! I don’t need any big shindig, so a home-cooked meal was the perfect occasion.

And a few more pictures. The first is Daniel finishing his miso soup in this strange glass we have (it’s his favorite). We decided it looked gross, so we took a picture. And I was astonished to find out when/where he asked you mom and dad for permission to marry me. He’s so sneaky! I also had no idea that he traveled back to Louisville to go to Shane Co to get the ring one day, and he had coffee with his mom. I’m oblivious! And the ring choice? Daniel had asked me a while back to send some pictures of styles that I liked. I found a picture of this ring (and a few others) online, and Shane Co had almost the exact same thing! How cool?

Edited to add: We actually took the original ring back and chose a different one!

Sapphire bling!

 

Newly engaged- Christmas 2009

 

We tied the knot May 28, 2010.

Daniel texted me during my small group and asked if he could cook dinner last night, of course, I
said “sure”. I have been feeling under the weather for the past few days, and I was probably just going
to reheat some “sick soup”, and Daniel is a great Chef, so I had no problem letting him concoct a
masterpiece.

He went around to several groceries to find the ingredients he needed (I think his ingredient run
lasted over an hour and a half, Plus Lexington traffic)! During his grocery run time, I immersed myself
in studying genetics with a large wad of tissues at my side (studying was done with my space heater
on “high” and all of my blankets on top of me). When Daniel got to my house, he said he didn’t need
any help cooking. I was so grateful that he didn’t need help- I decided to lay down and rest for a little
while. While I was napping, some delicious scents crept through the cracks of my doors (because we live
in an old house). After about an hour of hearing some clanking and chopping in the kitchen, dinner was
served.

A delicious Asian-inspired feast. He made miso soup with sautéed mushrooms, wilted spinach and tofu.
Alongside was seared sesame-encrusted tuna, and greens with a wonderful miso dressing that rivals
other Asian restaurants. We prayed over the delicious feast and enjoyed our meal, saying “mmmmm” at
every chance we got!

After we finished dinner, we hung out the table and just talked about our days a bit. Then, as I was
getting ready to start cleaning up some dishes, he said “Wait, I have a special dessert!” He said “close
your eyes”. I responded, “I’m cool with closing my eyes, but do I have to close my eyes and open my
mouth? What if it’s something ‘icky’?” He laughed and said “It’s not squishy or anything”. And for
whatever reason, that satisfied my curiosity, so I closed my eyes and sat with my hands out.

The next thing I knew, I opened my eyes, and he was on one knee in front of me (I was still sitting in my
dinner chair), and he had an open ring box in his hands. He said “Holly, will you marry me?” I think both
of my hands were on either side of my face (in shock), and I immediately said “Yes, Oh my goodness!!!”
We hugged, I cried some (I’ll blame it on the sickness, but it was really tears of joy), we hugged some
more. Finally I decided I should put on the “symbol of commitment and an eternal relationship”, and we
proceeded to take some pictures because I knew you (and the rest of the world) would want to see.

The lovely crying/shocked face. Man, I look great when I’m sick. Good thing I had showered earlier,
otherwise I would have looked like an unshowered sick person. And there’s a shot of the ring, against a
bag of “bonito flakes” (fish flakes used in miso soup).

And two more pictures, I didn’t realize how difficult it was to take a picture of something so sparkly! It
came with its own wedding band, so that curve on the top will be mirrored on the bottom! It’s fantastic!

The first thing we did (after doing the dishes) as a newly engaged couple was a trip to Kroger. I ran out
of NyQuil, so we bought a bottle of that and a pack of allergy medicine (it was on sale, and I am probably
going to need it over break). We came back home, watched some Food Network, I may have cried a
little bit again. Then I sent out texts to many, many people, had some NyQuil, prayed with Daniel and
slept.

So there you go, our engagement story. Daniel said he wanted to do something hugely extravagant, but
he doesn’t know his work schedule for Christmas break, and chances are, we’ll be in 2 different places
for a good portion of the time. He said he wanted to make it easier to do wedding planning stuff (we’re
still thinking May), if we were officially engaged! I don’t need any big shindig, so a home-cooked meal
was the perfect occasion.

And a few more pictures. The first is Daniel finishing his miso soup in this strange glass we have (it’s
his favorite). We decided it looked gross, so we took a picture. And I was astonished to find out when/
where he asked you mom and dad for permission to marry me. He’s so sneaky! I also had no idea that
he traveled back to Louisville to go to Shane Co to get the ring one day, and he had coffee with his mom.
I’m oblivious! And the ring choice? Daniel had asked me a while back to send some pictures of styles
that I liked. I found a picture of this ring (and a few others) online, and Shane Co had almost the exact
same thing! How cool?

One Year Ago

One thought on “One Year Ago

Leave a Reply

