Double “P” Puppy Treats

I had the day off today, so I decided to bake for my pup.

After scouring the internet for puppy treat recipes, I finally decided to make Pumpkin and Peanut Butter Puppy Treats.

The recipe was extremely simple:

  • 2.5 cups of Whole Wheat Flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup of Pumpkin Puree
  • 2 TB of Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon and salt

Preheat oven to 350, mix all ingredients together.
Add a bit of water/more flour until you can easily work with your dough.

I divided my dough into 4 parts and rolled each quarter into a long snakelike shape. Then, I used my kitchen shears and cut off tiny nuggets of Double “P” dough!

The treats baked for about 40 minutes, until they were golden brown and crunchy!

The husband did a taste test (human friendly ingredients) and agreed that they were finished baking!

Daniel decided tonight would be a good date night- so we headed to PF Chang’s. It was the first time I had ever been there, and it was pretty neat to order off of a gluten free menu! The coolness wore off once my meal arrived: I ordered the Buddha Platter (steamed veggies and brown rice). And that was my meal: plain old steamed vegetables (which were still delicious) with plain old brown rice. I doused everything in GF soy sauce. That’s the one thing that irks me about establishments that have “Gluten Free” menus. Obviously vegetables are gluten free, as is fruit, milk, rice, etc. I wish the chefs would get a little more creative to make our GF food more like what everyone else gets to order! I know my veggies are gluten free, but can’t you make up a simple sauce to put on them?

Anyways- it was still great to go out on a date night with the hubs. I think he was just trying to avoid the 5+ gallons of split pea soup that I cooked this afternoon… we’ll be eating it for the next week. I purposely didn’t post a picture of split pea soup because it looks absolutely disgusting despite tasting quite yummy.

AND one more exciting thing happened today- the magical cookie fairy visited our house while we were out to dinner. On our doorstep was a container filled with an assortment of stale cookies. One of the cookies (chocolate chip) even had some plastic from the chocolate chip bag baked into the cookie. We have no idea who left them at our doorstep, it was a lovely gesture, but I don’t think we should accept old cookies left at our door without a note.

Coopers out!

Double “P” Puppy Treats

5 thoughts on “Double “P” Puppy Treats

  1. My (Daniel’s) dinner wasn’t too great either. I ordered the seared Ahi Tuna, which I normally love, but PF Chang’s did a pretty lackluster job on it. My hot and sour soup was pretty mediocre too, so all-in-all I was a bit underwhelmed by Mr. (or Mrs.) Chang. I’m thankful for an evening out with my wife though!

    And yes, I promise to write a post on here someday…

  2. Haley Tucker says:

    Aw I think you guys just picked the wrong things at PF! So sad! If you go again, Changs Spicy Chicken, Kung Pao Shrimp, and Hot Fish are my favorites. 🙂
    And those cookies are kinda creepy. Not from us! I’d leave fresh ones. And a note. Haha!

Leave a Reply

