Gluten Free Carrot Spice Muffins

I had a bag of baby carrots giving me the evil eye this morning. Perhaps the Easter Bunny stole my appetite for raw carrots, or perhaps the thought of transforming innocent carrots into a delicious and portable snack for the week piqued my interest. For whatever reason, I had an insatiable urge to use them. I could just pack baby carrots as a snack for work, I could just roast them in the oven- but neither of those consumption methods interested me.
So, out of boredom and necessity, these delicious orange muffins were born.

Ingredients

Dry:

  • 1/3 c. plus 2TB plus 2 tsp. white rice flour
  • 1/3 c. plus 2TB plus 2 tsp. tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. chai spice (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
Wet:
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 c. finely shredded carrots
  • 1/2 c. plain yogurt
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 2 tsp. molasses (can also just use 1/4 c. brown sugar instead of white sugar + molasses)
  • 2 TBSP vegetable/canola oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line 12-cup muffin pan with muffin papers (or grease and lightly dust the muffin pan with rice flour)
  2. Whisk together all dry ingredients.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together all wet ingredients.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into dry, mix well.
  5. Pour batter into muffin cups
  6. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.
Gluten Free Carrot Spice Muffins

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Carrot Spice Muffins

  1. Just a warning, I made these recently and they turned out a little gummy! I think I may have forgotten to add enough flour (baby brain) and the batter was really runny!

Leave a Reply

