Trial Thanksgiving

Yesterday was a dreary and rainy day. We’ve talked about moving to Washington or Oregon, but I keep hearing that they’re rainy, grey places. I’m not someone who ALWAYS needs bright and sunny days, but I just don’t really care to be wet. Plus, rain+cold makes it impossible for me to get warm. I am thankful that today was a rainy day because I got to do a trial run of a few Thanksgiving recipes!

 Thanksgiving Thanksgiving-6

We only have “3 Thanksgivings” this year. The past two years, I think we’ve had at least 4 Thanksgiving celebrations to go to, so we’re happy to have one less! (We’re not having our “big family” Thanksgiving this year with my mom’s side of the family, we do it every other year!)

2009:

12447_539818203116_28503339_31935078_1217415_n 12434_538539999646_28503339_31889123_2666333_n

2010:

 149068_557092719846_28503339_32503135_5098326_n 

We decided to bring a veggie side dish to the Cooper Thanksgiving, and for some reason, I’ve had Brussels Sprouts on my mind.Thanksgiving-2-2I found this recipe for Lemon-Roasted Brussels Sprouts and decided to give it a try. I went to three grocery stores yesterday to find fresh Brussels Sprouts (I found them at Meijer!)Thanksgiving-11They turned out to be quite delicious! I made a half-pound for Daniel and I to share over lunch today. We both agreed that extra parmesan cheese was required! If you decide to use this recipe for Roasted Brussels Sprouts, be sure to add extra lemon, a healthy amount of parmesan and extra salt and pepper before serving!

Thanksgiving-2 Thanksgiving-3

Thanksgiving-5

I also found this recipe for Sweet Potato Casserole that I’m bringing to Thanksgiving at my mom’s house. The only substitutions I made was using buckwheat flour in place of the wheat flour in the streusel to make the casserole gluten-free. For my “trial” version, I ended up using a splash of regular milk, and I used less sugar.

Thanksgiving-7 Thanksgiving-8

Thanksgiving-10When I make this on Thanksgiving, I may actually increase the amount of evaporated milk in the recipe as the trial turned out a little dry. I’m also going to add in some spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, a pinch of clove) to the potatoes. And, as you can tell by the burnt pecans, I’ll try to keep a better eye on the casserole when it’s under the broiler Smile Thanksgiving-9Daniel is also planning on making a dessert. A couple of years ago, he made an upside-down Pecan-Caramel cake thing, and a little while back, he made a Tres-Leches cake that was STELLAR! The boy can bake. I’m excited to see what he decides to make this year!

Trial Thanksgiving

3 thoughts on “Trial Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

