All About Our Mini-Coop

Hi friends! If we’re friends on Facebook (or in real life), you’ve probably already heard the news that Daniel and I are expecting our first baby!!!

ImageWe are very thankful that God is blessing our family with a baby, and we’re looking forward to the day when we get to meet our little Mini-Cooper!

Due Date: September 28th, 2012

How far along? 10.7 weeks (I’ll be 11 weeks on Friday!)

Was it planned? Well, GOD certainly had a plan, and let’s just say His plan is a little different from our plan (isn’t it always!) So no, we weren’t planning on growing our family for another few years, but we’re excited that God went ahead and said “Now is the time!”

How have you been feeling? Pretty good! I wrote recaps of each week after we knew we were pregnant, but I think I’ll just consolidate them into one big “First Trimester” post. I do plan on posting weekly updates though when we get into the second (and third) trimesters! I had about 2 weeks of all day nausea (morning sickness does NOT explain what it really feels like). Thankfully, the nausea (and accompanying food aversions) has greatly subsided! Our dear friends Ashley and David welcomed their little baby girl into the world in December, and Ashley was sick the entire pregnancy, so I feel very thankful that I’ve just had a little bit of that feeling! I’ve had a bit of fatigue from weeks 8-now, but a quick 20 min nap usually helps, and my new bedtime is somewhere between 8:30-9pm. (I went to bed at 8:15 the other night- GLORIOUS SLEEP!) I’m also getting up 2-3 times per night to use the bathroom (my kidneys are supposed to be functioning at a very high level- I believe it!) I feel like this past week, I’ve finally felt more like myself! Let’s hope this trend continues for a little while!

Boy or Girl? It’s too early to tell, but I’m kind of thinking BOY (because of all of the salty foods that sound good- sweet things (like fruit) just don’t sound good!) I really don’t know how people can “feel” that they’re having a certain gender- seems like a bunch of baloney to me!

How did you tell Daniel that he was going to be a Dad? The Pregnancy Test Story

On Feb 3rd I noticed that my chest really hurting. I was feeling nauseous for the third or fourth day in a row. I managed to eat breakfast before class, but my stomach was growling about an hour later. I decided to go get a pregnancy test after class (at Family Dollar- gotta save $$). I also bought a bag of Valentine’s Hearts (just to ease the shock for Daniel if it was positive, and because chocolate is delicious).
I came home, took the test. A very faint + sign appeared. 
ImageI had about 30 minutes before Daniel got home from school. I wasn’t convinced that the faint “+” was a real positive, so I took Silas to Rite Aid and bought a 2 pack of tests (and got some Rite Aid bucks!) I chose a test that had no line if it was negative and one line if it was positive (didn’t want any confusion). 
I took the test. 
Positive. 
Image
Really, positive? 
Seriously? 
Then I began to nervously await Daniel’s arrival. I put the positive pregnancy tests on counter where they’re not SUPER conspicuous and started to think about how I was going to tell him. Daniel comes in, drops his stuff off, and immediately sees the tests.
ImageI burst into tears and kept saying “I’m sorry, I’m sorry!” Daniel assured me that it wasn’t my fault and that I shouldn’t be sorry.
We sit together in shock for a while, I cried for a while longer. We prayed together and then tried to go about the rest of our day! We actually went over to visit our friends Ashley and David after I got off of work that night. David and Ashley gave us such encouraging words, and it was SO nice to be able to talk to another couple who just went through the same phase of life that we’re starting!
 
We’re excited to be on this journey, and I’m extremely thankful to have a place to document everything!
All About Our Mini-Coop

One thought on “All About Our Mini-Coop

Leave a Reply

