Easy Plum Jam

A non-baby related post? How can this be?

IMG_5078

I haven’t spent much time in the kitchen lately. I think it’s probably because my stomach capacity is decreasing by the day, and it’s probably because Daniel doesn’t live here. Meals have been pretty simple- I was “proud” of myself when I cooked brown rice last night. I ate it alongside some sautéed onions and spinach and some tofu straight out of the fridge. (Silas LOVES cooked spinach, his eyes got all crazy today when I pulled out the container for lunch!)

Silas-4

So yeah, not a whole lot of cooking beyond scrambling some eggs or putting some veggies in the microwave has occurred.

IMG_5059

But today, I just needed a break from my online classwork. A few weeks ago, I bought 3lbs of plums for $2 and some change. However, I haven’t really been eating the plums on a regular basis, and I didn’t want to just throw away the fruits whenever they finally started rotting. I poked around online for some recipes to use up my excess of plums and I decided to make a Plum Jam inspired by Martha Stewart’s recipe.

Plum Jam

A quick and easy homemade “jam” recipe. Use other sweeteners to your taste. See original recipe for spice additions. Yields one Mason jar of jam (~2 cups)

Ingredients

  • 10-12 plums
  • sugar (to taste, I used 1/3 cup)
  • 1 cup water

Directions

  1. Wash plums, cut in half, remove pit, cut halves into quarters. Do not peel.
  2. Add plums, water and sugar to a non-reactive pot (NOT aluminum or copper)
  3. Bring to a boil, reduce and simmer about 20 minutes (or until there is barely any liquid left)
  4. Transfer (CAREFULLY) hot plum mixture to a food processor or blender and whirl away (you might want to let it cool first, exploding food processors are no fun!)
  5. Store in an airtight container, the jam will thicken as it cools.

IMG_5076

Plums have lovely floral notes when they’re really ripe, and you can definitely taste some of those flavors in the final product!

IMG_5072

The jam also has a bit of tartness to it, reminiscent of a cranberry. And check out that color!

IMG_5069

Easy Plum Jam

One thought on “Easy Plum Jam

Leave a Reply

