Mini-Coop: 34 Weeks

Baby was the size of a butternut squash! Measuring between 17.2 and 18.7 inches and weighing between 4.2-5.8 lbs, baby is growing like a weed!

We had a doctors appointment this week! Here are some updated details!

Pregnancy Stats

  • Weight Gain: 9lbs (or 14lbs if you include the weight I lost in the first trimester)
  • Baby girl is still HEAD DOWN!
  • Belly is measuring right on track
  • The doc looked over our “Birth Preferences” and everything looks good!

Our Birth Preferences

I debated writing about our “preferences” here, because at the end of labor and delivery- we just want a healthy baby and a healthy mommy. We are planning on having a natural (nonmedicated) childbirth, so most of our “preferences” go along with that goal. I am completely prepared to do whatever I need to in order for our little one to be born (including a c-section if necessary), but if baby is doing well, here are a few of the things that we would like to have happen during our labor and delivery experience!

  • Start labor naturally (my practice will let you go to 42 weeks if you and baby are still handling the pregnancy well)
  • Use “natural” methods to induce labor if necessary (you can Google that!)
  • Explain procedures/options to me/my husband before they are preformed (fortunately, our hospital is really good about doing this!)
  • I would like to be as mobile as I want to be during the labor/delivery process (this includes utilizing the shower/tub)
  • I would like to have a saline lock instead of an IV if I am well-hydrated (and if I don’t need any medication administered to baby through an IV)
  • Please don’t offer me pain medication, Daniel and I know our options and Daniel will let you know if we have decided to use any type of pain relief.
  • Please guide me in my pushing efforts so that I might avoid an episiotomy and/or tearing.
  • Please place the baby on my chest (or on Daniel’s in the situation that I am not able to hold her) immediately following birth. Skin to skin contact!
  • I would prefer to attempt to breastfeed immediately following birth
  • No pacifiers please
  • Supplements should not be given to the baby without our consent
  • We would like to wait at least an hour before eye treatment, vitamin K shots and other routine injections or tests are preformed so that we have maximum bonding time with our baby.

All of these preferences, again, are things we would like as long as our little one isn’t having any complications. And fortunately, when we toured our hospital last weekend, most of these things are common practice in the Maternity Ward!

How I’m Feeling/Workouts

I’m definitely feeling more tired at times. I took 2 naps last Saturday! I usually do some sort of activity in the morning/early afternoon (taking Silas for a walk, going to the gym), and then my body kind of just wants to rest in the afternoon. We have plans most evenings (small group on Mondays, Daniel plays Ultimate Frisbee on Tuesdays and Softball on Thursdays, and our weekends are pretty full up until our due date!) Resting in the afternoon definitely allows me to have more energy to make dinner and hang out during the various weeknight activities!

Here’s what my workouts looked like for the 34th week of pregnancy:

  • Saturday: 2 mile walk
  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: 3 mile walk
  • Tuesday: 5 mile walk (3 miles in the AM with the pup, 2 miles around the waterfront while Daniel played Ultimate Frisbee!)
  • Wednesday: Upper Body Weights (squats and calf raises thrown into the mix between upper body sets)
  • Thursday: Rest/Doc Appointment/Super short walk with the dog and husband
  • Friday: Rest

I’m gonna try to get to the gym a few more times this week, especially since I’m paying for it! Basically, I’m just listening to my body and trying to maximize my time outside (with the dog!) I’m really thankful that I feel good enough for at least a light workout on most days!

See you next week!

Mini-Coop: 34 Weeks

Leave a Reply

