Mini-Coop’s Nursery (on a budget)

Finally getting a “nursery tour” posted! Yahoo! We spent around $300 on our nursery- and most of that cost came from the purchase of our Pack ‘n Play and our glider! We repurposed a lot of items we already had and made artwork to give the room a little bit of personality!

We didn’t really have any “theme” in mind for the nursery. I didn’t want to spend a whole lot of money, so I made some decorations for the walls. We’re also just using the Pack ‘n Play as our bassinet/crib until our little one is too big! I wanted to keep the things that we purchased fairly gender neutral, and I added in some purple as an accent color in some of the artwork!

From the door looking towards the left:

IMG_5638

  • Glider from Walmart
  • Daniel’s file storage/nursing table
  • Basket ‘o Blankets (will probably move this basket out to the living room so we have blankets out there)
  • Dresser we found on the side of the road
  • Changing table (repurposed desk)

Another view:

IMG_5633

  • Basket of books under the desk
  • Laundry basket and nursing pillow

“Artwork” over Changing Table:

IMG_5636

This art project was really easy. I just traced circles of different sizes onto purple tissue paper. I cut them out and then used Modge-Podge to adhere them to a piece of foam board. It was super simple, and I’m really happy with how it turned out!

From the door, looking towards the right:

IMG_5639

  • Closet (not pictured)
  • Pack ‘n Play
  • Bouncy Chair
  • Mirror that I don’t know what to do with…

Close-up of the sleeping area with homemade tissue “flowers”

IMG_5630IMG_5629

We practiced swaddling the bear! Can you see him in the changing table above?

Watercolor artwork (between the closet door and the Pack ‘n Play)

IMG_5627

This was really easy as well. I just measured out a 1cm grid on a sheet of paper, and then I painted each square in with watercolors! I liked that I could choose which colors to put in each square! The frame was $1 from Goodwill, I purchased a bunch of frames (you can see them piled up on top of the dresser) and a can of white spray paint. I’m not sure where or if I’ll use the other frames, but they all match now!

Artwork above the glider/nursing station:

IMG_5631IMG_5632

I purchased a 4 pack of 8×10 canvases from the craft store, 2 sheets of felt and a bottle of black and white acrylic paint. The top “prints” are simply toilet paper rolls that were dipped in paint. The bottom pieces of “art” are elephants cut out of two different colors of felt. I found the silhouettes online and just traced them onto the felt. I used Modge-Podge to adhere them to the canvas.

So there you have it! I’m sure we’ll be spending lots of time in the nursery (especially for nursing) and I’m really glad that there is a lot of open carpet space in the middle of the room for playtime! As far as sleeping goes, we’re planning on pulling the Pack n’ Play into our room for the first few weeks to make it easier during those nighttime feedings. I still may take baby girl into the nursery for those feedings so I don’t wake up Daniel, or we may move the glider into our room. We’ll see!

I think we spent around $30 for all of the art projects (including the unused frames). We purchased the Pack ‘n Play and the glider ($270 total). My mom found the bouncy seat and un-pictured swing for $15 at a garage sale. We repurposed a desk as the changing table, found a dresser, used a milk crate for book storage and used Daniel’s filing cabinet as a “table” in the nursing corner (free). We already had the curtains, mirror, and baskets and the rest of the items in the room were gifts. So there you have it, a nursery for about $300!

Mini-Coop’s Nursery (on a budget)

3 thoughts on “Mini-Coop’s Nursery (on a budget)

  1. Melissa says:

    We kept our nursery simple for all 3 kids as well. We repurposed household furntiure too. I love your creative artwork! Excitedly awating the baby’s arrival.

  2. Marcee says:

    Glad to read your mom bought (to repurpose for 15 bucks is fab!) a baby swing. Absolutely 100% sure you will need this for bebe. Any new parent should have a good quality baby-swing for soothing a newborn. They just love swinging! The gentle sounds of music are such a bonus. Helps them fall fast asleep.

    Looks like you are all set Coopers! It will be an amazing experience. Trust me on that. Haha!

Leave a Reply

