Random “New Mom” Things

This is a list of things that I wish I had known before having a baby. Some bullets are tips that I got from other moms, and other things are just

  • Night Sweats. They have gotten less intense (I’m not soaking through 2 shirts each night), but they still leave the bed cold and damp for my return from a nighttime nursing session. Ick. I slept with a sleeping bag as my blanket for the first 3 or 4 weeks because it was easier to wash.
  • Tank Tops. I live in tank tops. Upon recommendation from my dear friend Ashley, tank tops have become a STAPLE in my nursing-friendly wardrobe. You can pull up your shirt and pull down the tank- your belly stays covered and the babe has access to food. Win-win. I have about 5 tanks (these tanks from Target and something like this from Old Navy), and none of them cost over $5. They really make any shirt into a shirt that you can nurse in!  (However, wearing a tank top with just a sweatshirt over top is NOT an easy outfit to nurse in)
  • Sometimes I wish that I didn’t have side bangs. I now spend a lot of time looking down at the baby, and my bangs end up in front of my face (when they should be pushed to the side). I’m always pinning them back so that they don’t get in the way
  • A Smartphone. Daniel and I lived in the cell phone stone age before Adeline came. And then BAM- we had a cute and adorable little person that we wanted to share with the world. We upgraded our T-Mobile plan (for just $20 bucks more per month than our previous no-data plan) and purchased smart phones online (half-price of what we would have paid in-store). Now I have the world at my fingertips. But seriously, it has been great to have a camera at all times, and I love some of the apps.
  • Favorite Apps: I LOVED BabyESP for “tracking” feedings/sleep times, etc., BUT the full version isn’t available in the USA. Weird. So now I use the (free) Baby Care app. I’m trying to see a pattern in her naptimes, and it’s great to have a visual of her blocks of eating/sleeping times.
  • Good smelling shower gel. Showers are little breaks when you feel like you’re in heaven. Get a good smelling bath soap or shower gel and enjoy your time to relax!

Energy - Orange Ginger Body Wash & Foam Bath - Aromatherapy - Bath & Body Works

(source)

One thing I haven’t really used (that I thought I would use all of the time):

  • Moby Wrap. It was really hard for me to put a floppy newborn into the wrap. I’m going to try it out again in a few weeks (and with a different way of wrapping), but I only tried it twice and didn’t care for it.

Things I thought I wouldn’t use but use frequently:

  • Baby Monitor. I didn’t register for one, but we purchased a $7 monitor the day that we moved Adeline to her nursery (6 weeks old)
  • Pacifier. I was kind of anti-paci before baby got here- but she really does love sucking on things, and since I don’t want to be a human pacifier, her WubbaNub has been great. She also hasn’t quite figured out how to keep her hand/thumb in her mouth, so a paci helps to calm her down when she’s frustrated

There you go- my list of things that I wish I had known before baby arrived!

Random “New Mom” Things

5 thoughts on “Random “New Mom” Things

  1. My favourite is the good smelling shower gel. Ah, to take a shower while baby is sleeping haha. I get night sweats still!! Last night was ok, but the night before, I was a mess!!!

    I love the way you organized this post. I think it’s great for other new moms who are maybe questioning what they should and shouldn’t get!!

    1. This might not be very encouraging, but I’m STILL getting night sweats! Not soaking thru shirts, but I’m definitely “damp” all over when I get up in the night to nurse (and we’re at 8 weeks post partum…) Can’t wait to read more about your life as a mommy 🙂

Leave a Reply

